Oilers To Play In Berry Conference

The Central Hockey League is recognizing the contribution to the sport of two significant personalities with the naming of the leagues two conferences the Turner Conference and the Berry Conference.

The new conferences bear the names of Joseph Turner, the Turner Conference, and N. Thomas Berry, Jr., the Berry Conference. The team that captures the Turner Conference will win the newly created Turner Trophy and the team that captures the Berry Conference will claim the N. Thomas Berry Trophy. The Oilers will play in the Berry Conference.

“We are pleased to name the conferences after individuals who made significant contributions to the sport,” said Lewis. “Joe Turner’s heroic life is a symbol that all athletes should revere and appreciate and Tom continues to play a large part in the growth and development of the CHL and has served as a role model for many people in the industry. The Turner and Berry Conferences are very fitting and something all players will strive to win throughout the regular season.”

The Turner Trophy is named for Joseph Turner, a goaltender from Windsor, Ontario who played professionally with the Detroit Red Wings before serving in World War II with the United States Army. Turner was killed on December 13, 1944 in Belgium during battle. Turner drew distinction as an amateur goaltender in the Michigan-Ontario amateur league, a forerunner to the IHL, playing on teams in Detroit and Windsor. Since 1945, the IHL awarded its league championship as the ‘Turner Cup’. The Fort Wayne Komets have won the Turner Cup as the champions of the IHL for the past three seasons and seven times in the team’s history (1963, 1965, 1973, 1993, 2007, 2008, and 2009).

Tom Berry currently serves as the Commissioner Emeritus for the CHL and has been involved in the sport of hockey for close to a half-century. He previously spent 13 years with the IHL serving as their commissioner from 1989-1994 adding seven new cities under his command. The current resident of Indianapolis has served in many capacities in the sport covering the on-ice aspect of officiating all the way to running a hockey team. In 1974, Berry was the principal investor in the Indianapolis Racers of the World Hockey Association.

Along with the Oilers, the Berry conference will feature the Allen Americans, Arizona Sundogs, Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs, Laredo Bucks, Mississippi RiverKings, Odessa Jackalopes, Rio Grande Valley Killer Bees, and Texas Brahmas.

The Bloomington Prairie-Thunder, Colorado Eagles, Dayton Gems, Fort Wayne Komets, Evansville IceMen, Missouri Mavericks, Quad City Mallards, Rapid City Rush, and Wichita Thunder.

The Oilers had the second highest point total increase in the CHL this season under head coach Bruce Ramsay, who was in his first season with the Oilers. They will have 33 home games at the BOK Center in the 2010-11 season, starting on Friday October 15th against the Wichita Thunder

Season tickets for 2010-11 with plans for as low as $26 a month are now available by calling the Oilers office at 918-632-PUCK (7825).

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.